I am the lost sock

So I found a sock just now (a really cool Spiderman sock), and putting it in my drawer, I saw it’s partner. I don’t think I need to tell you how happy this made me. My sock was lost, and now is found!

This reminded me of the three parables of Luke 15: the lost sheep; the lost drachma (coin); and the prodigal son. I’ll tell you the truth: I’m happier about finding my lost sock than about all the socks I didn’t lose. Like how the shepherd put the lost sheep on his shoulder and carried it home, I picked my sock off the floor, and did that folding thing to pair the pair, and put them in my drawer. Like how the woman who lost her coin phoned or texted (I assume) her friends to celebrate with her, I’m writing this to you. Rejoice with me!

Image

I am my lost sock! I was lost, and now am found. I lay useless on the bedroom floor, until I was returned to the drawer, and reunited with my partner, and so brought home and made whole. And I tell you the truth again: One day not so far away, I will wear this sock upon my foot (and I believe God will act likewise to me).

All this because, as the Pharisees and the scribes said so well, “Jesus welcomes sinners and eats with them.”

God bless you.

Thoughts? Leave a reply

