I love the Blessed Virgin Mary!

I’ve been wanting to publish another post on Mary for a long while now (probably since straight after the last), but found it too tough to write one. But just now, during (maybe after) praying the holy rosary (joyful mysteries), I realised I could just write out of love, rather than knowledge of some area of Mariology.

I love her! When I think of Mary, my heart leaps within me, like the foetal Baptist leapt in Elizabeth’s womb in response to the Mother of God’s greeting. Mary is full of grace, and the Lord is with her, and she is united to Christ, and so wherever she goes, she brings God. As she put it herself,

“My soul magnifies the Lord,
and my spirit rejoices in God my Saviour,
for he has looked with favour on the lowliness of his servant.”
(Lk 1:46-47)

Whenever Mary is present in a gospel scene, and even when she isn’t, you will love Jesus more perfectly if you unite your love with the love of his mother. This is the beauty of the holy rosary.

In pictures of the coronation of Mary as Queen of heaven, I had noticed that the crown is being placed on her head by an army of angels, which is wonderful, but I recently realised, that it was(is?) surely placed by Jesus himself, who delights to give us his own glory (Jn17:22). Happily, there are plenty of images where Jesus lays the crown (which is surely his own) upon her head. But certainly, a great crowd of angels and saints watch with glee.

If anyone finds the idea of a created Queen of heaven strange or shocking, imagine if I said that we (hopefully) who conquer, are to sit with Jesus upon his own throne (Rev 3:21).

Mary wonderfully presents to us the people of God, of old and new covenants, as she faithfully awaits her coming Messiah, and receives him with love into her life and follows him when he is born. Who can contemplate the Virgin Mother, holding the Divine Child, gazing upon him with love, and fail to love them also? The light of Christ reflects off of her face. At this moment it is clear, she is closest to Jesus, and if you wish to be closer to him also, you must draw near her. If you wish to hold him in your arms, you must receive him from hers. If you approach to bathe your face in his light, you can’t escape the same light reflecting off of her own face.

There is much more I wish to praise of the Holy Theotokos, but it is perhaps too much for me.

‘You must know that when you “hail” Mary, she immediately greets you! Don’t think that she is one of those rude women of whom there are so many—on the contrary, she is utterly courteous and pleasant. If you greet her, she will answer you right away and converse with you!’
-St. Bernardine of Siena

Holy Mary, Mother of God, pray for us sinners, now and at the hour of our death.

God bless you!

P.S. If you want some extra wonderful learning about Mary, I recommend O Immaculate Conception, by Saint Maximilian Kolbe. It’s wonderful.

Thoughts? Leave a reply

