Catholicism is more free than protestantism

Since joining the Catholic Church, I have found that I’m much more free in my theology and spirituality. Confused? I’ll explain.

As a protestant, I couldn’t tell where orthodoxy ended and heresies began. If I was thinking or praying outside the box, I might be thinking or praying outside Christianity itself. And perhaps scarier, was that I couldn’t even know where others drew the line between orthodoxy and heresy. Without any authority on the matter, either our communion was brittle and easily broken, or our theology and spirituality had to become no more than opinions.

But now, as a Catholic, I am not scared of newness in my religion. The Holy Spirit brings new things, and they are wonderful. As Pope Francis loves to remind us, our God is a God of surprises! We don’t have to be afraid of the new, because, by God’s providence, we are sure of the ancient truths, contained in the deposit of the faith.

And if, God forbid, I say something certainly wrong, the Church can correct me. If the Church doesn’t know what to make of it, it won’t feel threatened, and we can figure it out together, knowing we are still together in the one body of Christ.

And so, Catholic theology and spirituality keeps growing ever stronger, even today. I’d like to remind you, that we too are part of the Church’s apostolic tradition, passing on and developing doctrine under the guidance of the Holy Spirit. Meanwhile, protestant theology and spirituality is doomed to either breaking up, with each part closing itself off from others, or (more commonly seen) weakening into no more than subjective thoughts and preferences, even on what were once the hallmarks of protestant orthodoxy.

God bless you

3 comments

  1. I, too, enjoy great freedom in this fullness of faith. Knowing what the Truth is and that it is not up for interpretation, gives me great peace. I love the unity. No matter where I go, I can walk into a church and attend mass and feel at home!

    Liked by 1 person

Thoughts? Leave a reply

