Letting go of my blog

[Previously ‘Renouncing my blog’, but then I looked up renouncing and found it didn’t mean what I wanted]

Sometimes, my blog brings me trouble. I find that mid thinking, or reading, or praying, the thought comes: ‘Ooh! I could write a post on this.’ And if I’m not on my guard, I might start planning it out, coming up with my clever points and witty expressions. And then, I try to actually write it, and it sucks. It’s forced, and you can tell. Meanwhile, my thinking, reading and praying have been ruined by the distraction, and I’m left without peace.

The problem is, I become attached to my blog. Often, writing a post has brought me great joy and fulfilment, which is great! Often it’s a deep spiritual joy. But when I become attached to these feelings, and desire my happiness, my success, they become poisonous. I’m no longer writing for the sake of what I’m writing/for God, and it becomes full of effort and self, and therefore lifeless. Meanwhile, I find no happiness or fulfilment, because these come from God alone.

I can’t write for self and for God. If I’m attached to anything finite, I’m constrained from the infinite.

We must be detached from everything, even spiritual pleasure, even the service of God, because they aren’t God. ‘God alone is good.’

So, I have to renounce Blogging. I’m not quitting, but I am giving it up to God.

How do I do this? I have to accept that nothing that matters is in my power, except to love God; then I have to love God, and let Him do what He wants with me and my blog.

‘Behold, I am the handmaid of the Lord. Let it be done to me according to your word.’

God bless you!

8 comments

  1. Yes! How many times have I been distracted in the middle of Mass, thinking “Oh, that’s an interesting thought – how can I put that in my blog?” And then doing exactly what you said. Let’s offer even these distractions up to God, He’ll know what to do with them.

    You know, I even started my blog as a way of journaling my Consecration to the Sacred Heart of Jesus – but, sometimes I forget that I am doing all for the Sacred Heart. This post of yours is so encouraging to me because I have often felt the same way – try to be clever and fail miserably. Speak from the heart, humbly, for God and the post becomes a blessing. And so we journey on together, striving to remain true to ourselves – which is remaining true to the Image in which we are created. Happy blogging!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I really enjoy your blog as it inspires me to become a better person. So many times you have pushed me to either go to confession or pray with a deeper intention.
    Whatever ‘renouncing your blog’ means I hope you keep writing as you’re a great writer and can inspire many but at the same time, Thy will be done.
    God bless you <3

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, your words mean a lot to me, and your blog has truly blessed me too :). I hope I keep writing too, and until God says otherwise, I plan to. I think I’ve misused the word renounce, and meant detachment.

      God bless you too!

      Like

      1. Oh I completely understand that! I can be too attached to my blog thinking things like ‘oh this would make a great blog post’ and not actually living in the moment.
        Something that I’ve done to help with this is actually take a break from blogging and just journal. This reorganized my thoughts and put the intention of my blog back in order. Maybe we should just combine our blogs, less work :P

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Don’t ever think that you’re alone.
        My favourite part about blogging is reading other people’s blogs because so many times I can totally relate to what they are writing about.
        Your blog is one of them. Keep it up. It’s like building a friendship with a blog and not even the person… That’s a weird thought…….

        Liked by 1 person

Thoughts? Leave a reply

